Single European railway area: Commission calls on CROATIA, SLOVENIA, and SPAIN to correctly transpose EU law

The Commission today decided to send a letter of formal notice to Croatia, Slovenia, and Spain for failing to correctly transpose certain provisions of the EU rules on establishing a Single European Railway Area (Directive 2012/34/EU).

The Directive aims at creating a more competitive framework, by covering the regulatory oversight and financial architecture within the railway sector, the power of national regulators, the framework for investment in rail, and fair and non-discriminatory access to rail infrastructure and rail related services.

In November 2012, Member States adopted the Directive and agreed to transpose these rules into national law by 16 June 2015. The Member States concerned now have four months to reply. Otherwise, the Commission may decide to send a reasoned opinion.

Arianna Podesta –

You may also like...