European Commission refers CYPRUS, the NETHERLANDS and PORTUGAL to Court for failing to upgrade road transport registers

The Commission has decided to refer Cyprus, the Netherlands and Portugal to the Court of Justice of the EU as they did not upgrade their registers of road transport companies.

All Member State should have upgraded the connection between their registers and the revised European Registers of Road Transport Undertakings (ERRU), by 30 January 2019, as required by the Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2016/480.

The ERRU allows information exchange between Member States on road transport companies established in the EU. It is an essential instrument to ensure enforcement of EU legislation and fair competition among operators in the road transport sector.

The decision to refer the matter to the Court follows the failure of Cyprus, the Netherlands and Portugal to bring their legislation in line with EU law following the Commission’s reasoned opinion.

Daniel Ferrie

You may also like...