EU Commission calls on 10 MEMBER STATES and the UNITED KINGDOM to correctly apply rules on road safety traffic information

The Commission has sent letters of formal notice to Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Italy, Latvia, Malta, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia and the United Kingdom for having applied rules on road safety related traffic information incorrectly.

The rules are required by Delegated Regulation (EU) Nº 886/2013, adopted under the Intelligent Transport Systems (ITS) Directive.

Access to road safety-related traffic data is key to improving safety on European roads and providing information services to road users.

This legislation requires Member States to make such data available for exchange and re-use through single, national access points. This helps ensure that information services are compatible and consistent across the EU.

The countries concerned now have four months to reply to the letter of formal notice; otherwise, the Commission may consider adopting a reasoned opinion.

Arianna Podesta –

You may also like...